January 11, 2017-Is Poetry accessible and vital to everyone?

Hello January,

I was rushing to a poetry meeting when I got to a discussion with a busy driver who intercepted me as I was riding my bike. Where are you going? He asked. My answer surprised him.

Well, I wish there was time for any poetry reading in everyday life. I am too busy to earn my life.

Ok, this is true if you take poetry to be a form of luxury? Is it only for those who are idle rich and carefree? Or who have a higher education?

Maybe or maybe not. If art is a luxury, and if rest, fun and then education is a luxuryy,  if love or taking time to look at the stars, is an unecessary luxury what is left?

But if we need to rush all day long?

Then we can start with a poem as a mantra for the day.

 

The Roses of Saadi’
I wanted to bring you roses this morning; 

But I had closed so many in my sash

That the knots were too tight to contain them.
The knots split.

The roses blew away.

All blew off to the sea, borne by the wind,

Carried to the water, never to return.

The waves looked red as if inflamed.

Tonight, my dress is still perfumed.

Breathe in the fragrant memory.https://www.talkinfrench.com/french-poems-english-translations/

 

 

 

One thought on “January 11, 2017-Is Poetry accessible and vital to everyone?

Leave a Reply

