April 17, 2016, post day 4: changing attitude

Hello April,

today I was invited into a dinner party where I met interesting people but I cought myself in self-pity thoughts: the other participants seemed to have a more direct path in their life: they got their first book out pretty young, or they had already exposed their art in different countries. And in their personal life there was a handsome, generous compagnion, a pet, a kid.

I felt as if I had to explain why I had been through this winding road. And then I thought how about a change today? I am happy with my adventures, they have supplied material for future books. It is great we have different paths, in this way we can exchange experiences. And also, being rich in experiences is something no one can take away from us. So what if I have taken “a road less travelled” compared to those other people?

There are many ways to be rich; and nobody knows what the future holds πŸ™‚

http://poetrypages.lemon8.nl/life/roadnottaken/roadnottaken.htm

6 thoughts on “April 17, 2016, post day 4: changing attitude

  1. I was unhappy when I started reading this post because I thought, “Oh, no, she’s making possibly the biggest mistake of all–measuring her worth on the basis of achievements when if she waited a year or two or five she would see that almost all achievements we valued so highly become meaningless-as they should. Why do we persist making that mistake?” But then you came out of it and were your real self who values life for its own sake–freely as you encounter it.

Leave a Reply

