October 19, 2015- On new habits and taking risks

Hi there October,

am I the only person who doesn’t know how to use a gas stove? And is this a reason to laugh at me? Of course gas stoves exist in France. But I had never been faced to one.

And now, I found myself in my new flat, where everything is different somehow. I need to think :

a. how do I open the window?

b. how do I use the gas stove without causing damage…

c. how do I use the washing machine?

d. is this the way you turn on the shower?

Anyway, it is not a question of a cultural change, no. Here, I simply admit that I am not very handy with machines and objects. I spend twice as much time to do the simplest thing.

But still, this is fun.

Not that I don’t have any fears. Last night I had a nightmare. I was telling my best friend that I didn’t know if I was destroying myself and others with my risks:

To come to London and spend some of my last economies in order to be create in a different artistic Platform. A place that seems dynamic and welcoming.Will I be up to their expectations?

To rent a flat with two bedrooms without really affording it. Couldn’t I just start small, with a tiny room? Will I find soon the right flatmate?

Somehow it was easier to persuade a real estate agent than a group of people for a flatshare.

So here I am. With my autumn cold. Sneezing.

But still, daring to dream and cook around the clock 🙂

7 thoughts on “October 19, 2015- On new habits and taking risks

  1. Your story reminds of when my daughter drove in Canada for the first time. She panicked as we approached an intersection and frantically asked, “Do red lights here mean the same as at home?”
    Good luck with a the newness.

Leave a Reply

