February 22- “Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.”

Dear February,

I meant to do a lot of things today, but I finally had a very close relationship with my couch and my bed’s quilt for the first part of the day. Outside it was raining, and only latter I met some friends for brunch. It was nice to catch up. Among them, there was a “tourist”, friend of a friend, who just arrived in Paris and had a few questions.

“Where can I find contemporary artists and painters”? He asked me. Are there cafés, bars, specific places, as we see in films of the “Midnight in Paris” type?

Another friend answered he should visit these ancient hangouts but he shouldn’t expect anything similar today, but I am much more optimistic.

There might not be “a” particular café for all the intelligentsia of Paris. Still, there are a lot of artists, of every kind, Parisians and people visiting, “intermittent du spectacle”, writers, actors and actrices, philosophers.

Much more scattered I think than during the “golden era”, as it is represented in films. Now there are social media and may be there is a different way to work. In my neighborhood for example, I see well-known authors, or at the place we branched there are a lot of actors and people of the media.

Are they as brilliant as …X, Y, Z? How would we know for sure?

When Van Gogh was trying to sell his paintings no one was interested. They worshiped painters who have been forgotten and we have never heard of today.

If there is a flow of ideas, imagination, creativity, things happen.

But you still need time to discover. And the eyes to see 🙂

“Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.”
Confucius

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/seeing

Picasso à Céret

 

7 thoughts on “February 22- “Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.”

    • Yes, I don’t know where it has been shot, but the chairs look like the ones you find in most Parisian public gardens… I like to imagine he is at the café of the jardin de Luxembourg. But I don’t know when the café opened up… I will try to find out…

  1. And Midnight in Paris was a lovely movie. Fact is: those cafés are everywhere. Whether one sees a celeb or not is besides the point. You can take your friend to “les puces de Saint-Ouen”, the flea market. (Actually have to cross “Bamako” for a block…)
    Midnight in Paris is in fact a movie that understood Paris: just a place to walk. 🙂 (Better in sunshine than chilly february, right?)
    You take care now, y’hear?
    Brian

Leave a Reply

