February 21- Speaking up your mind

Dear Feb,

I hope you don’t mind this form of intimacy, February. You have been around for a while, so it feels like this is the moment to have a conversation with you: on speaking up my mind. No, I don’t mean I have been lying to you until now. Don’t be susceptible!

What I mean is, you have been watching me interacting with people, so you will understand.

Let’s say we go out for a drink, coffee, or herbal tea. We engage into a conversation, and then you say something I don’t like. It might be on purpose or not. I find it hurtful, in any case. So, how do I react? Do I answer back? Tell you, wait a second here, … ?

It could be a casual friendly relationship, a flirt, it could be an intimate relationship, and this is more tricky.

What I do, personally, is that I might think:  “I don’t like what you say, but I’d rather not tell you directly, I don’t want an argument”. 

But still, I will not feel ok, and this will affect our relationship, because I might withdraw.

So is it better to speak up my mind?

If one person for example starts criticizing something I like, let’s say, blogging, or being a Parisian café fun, …

Finally, YES, I think it is better. It is good to say: “you are trespassing here, darling. I don’t like what you do to my personal garden, that I nurture with care and love”.

If I don’t, I might be an indifferent gardener. And this is not a basis for any kind of healthy relationship.

So, dear, you don’t have to like my habits, approve of my behavior or life-style.

But if you want to be friends, respect our difference and love what you don’t understand.

http://www.sacredcirclecreativelife.com/uncategorized/speak-up/

 

 

6 thoughts on “February 21- Speaking up your mind

  1. Use your heart more than your head
    Not your head more than your heart.

    I once made the mistake about using only my head and the result is that I felt more deadly.

    So glad that I become able to realise the existence of my heart.
    There are so many important things that are always with us like sure things
    but we have ignored so far.

    Just don’t ignore our hearts and follow them.

    Thank you so much, sincerely, for sharing this. :))

Leave a Reply

