February 3b- Parisian Mysteries…

Dear February,

would you know anything of a particular Parisian mystery, a story that took place at the very moment of the EIffel Tower construction?

No?

Actually I refer to a novel I started last night, situated at this period, summer 1889 in Paris, whose title is “the Mystery of the street Saint-Pères”. It is the time of the World Fair, and the Eiffel Tower has been just built. For the time being, artists, journalists, middle-aged ladies with children want to see the view and get close to this new monument. But all of a sudden, a woman dies, apparently after being stung by a bee.

Or so it seems. Because another person, a man, without anything in common with this bourgeois lady, has the same luck at another part of the city.  Victor Legris runs a bookshop in Paris, is there. And he probably is the detective. Or the murderer? (I actually have just finished the first chapter).

Winter night, cold outside, and I decided to read some of the books on my library. Books that friends have offered me a while ago, and I wasn’t particularly excited to read at the moment. But now I think it is time to put some order in my home. After having moved in, last March, a lot of things are still in a mess -particularly books and papers-

So, my first choice has been this novel, written by two sisters Liliane Korb and Laurence Lefèvre, who decided to use a pseudonym : Claude Izner. One of their occupations has been “bouquinistes” close to the Notre Dame. I’d like to learn more about them! They actually received a literary price in 2003 for this very mystery novel.

Actually, there is also an english translation if you want to check it out: http://alexinleeds.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/murder-on-the-eiffel-tower.jpg

I will see how it goes…

2 thoughts on “February 3b- Parisian Mysteries…

  1. Sounds very nice. Didn’t know about it. (I might borrow it next time I drop in Paris). The theme reminded me of Tardi’s Adèle Blanc-Sec comics. (Which I adore! I only miss one volume to complete my collection!)
    Be bad. (Sometimes more fun than being good!)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

