January 22- The stolen gmail address, the laundry place and the French actress

Dear January,

I run into a mystery today, and nothing prepared me for that. I simply went to the nearest laundry place. There are washing machines and dryers -very practical if you don’t have one at home. The place was packed with four women, all speaking english and two of them seemed to be in the middle of an argument. I didn’t get the reason, but when the first lady left, the second explained to the rest of us, her version:

To make a long story short, they were both Americans. Lady no 2 had a gmail address and for some reason couldn’t use it the last month. She had received a gmail message that her email belonged to someone else, and this someone else had the exact same name. Lady no 2 was sure someone had usurped her electronic address, and was after this individual.

And oh, surprise, she found the author of the crime, by accident, at the laundry place, just there. It was lady no 1. The two women started talking about washing powder maybe and somehow they mentioned their names, that should have been quiet similar. What is more, they lived in the same neighborhood. Lady no 1 denied having done anything wrong and she also told lady no 2 they had common friends.

The two women had about the same age, and seemed to be, professionally speaking, on the same field.

What had really happened?

I need to use the dryer more often in case I bump into one of them.

Actually this is the first time I heard of such a thing. I have a friend who was attributed a membership to a dating site and she keeps receiving potential dates who are interested to someone else’s profile.

But finding the person who uses your email address at the same laundry in Paris, is not quiet common. I think.

Was that all?

No, because then, I was addressed by another woman, another American probably. She wanted to know if I was the actress who was playing the role of a French woman in a tv series. She told me I looked so typically French.

I hoped the actress in question was a nice one.

It would have been  if I actually were the actress.

That would have made quiet a group of people at the small laundry place, in downtown Paris.

 

 

5 thoughts on “January 22- The stolen gmail address, the laundry place and the French actress

  1. How very unique. It could be something similar rather than sinister. So change some passwords and be done with it. Probably occurred because they were using the same router or something I would agree with Lady 1. Both should just change their names too. Really some names are so similar that it is hard to not mix up – don’t use your whole real name, friends will understand and know who you are if you have a creative address.

    While I don’t do it often I sometimes google family members names. And it is quite amazing how many people have the same name. Even within the same generation.

    I had to change one of my passwords because I was alerted that someone in another country had figured out my simple pass-code that I had been using forever. So I changed the pass-code to something more complex.

    Cheers – love the retro mystery bus 😉

    Oh, once I was told I looked like the cartoon character Mr. Magoo…really? Rather be likened to the Mona Lisa, which has also been done 😉

  2. An interesting story.
    (That’s when I’m grateful to have such a bizzare first and last name!)
    Bonne semaine à Paris!
    Brian
    (Not my real name…)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

