November 15- Powerful female characters in literature and … life

Dear November,

do you think strong female characters come up often in literature and films? Would you say it is important for our growth? The reason I ask is because I have been thinking that starting a small group to help us achieve our goals, should somehow integrate some reading, or film watching, or …

Anyway, being exposed to some female role models. Does powerful mean being some form of warriors? How about being charming? We want to charm our men don’t we? Isn’t it what we have been trying, to show that the two are linked together?

I have been looking in French literature, and the novel that has come to my mind is the “Chartreuse de Parme”, of Stehndal, “The Charterhouse of Parma”, in english, for the character of Gina that has inspired me a lot as a young woman, when I first became acquainted with the novel. I was so much moved by it, that I wouldn’t go for lunch if I didn’t finish an important scene πŸ™‚

The Charterhouse of Parma chronicles the adventures of the young Italian nobleman Fabrice del Dongo from his birth in 1798 to his death. Gina is Fabrice’s aunt, and not what we might conventionally call a character with high morals, but she has a lot of character, and is definitely very active.

How about Elisabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice? To take an example from English literature.

Anyway, I think I will go one reflecting on this issue, and the ways we are powerful and charming πŸ™‚

http://www.e-booksdirectory.com/details.php?ebook=6901

2 thoughts on “November 15- Powerful female characters in literature and … life

  1. I think my favorite female role models of literature are in science fiction. They are often not bound by the conventions found in less fanciful literature. But still I do not think there are enough.

  2. Very interesting post! I believe myself to be a feminist albeit not as open or public about it as others; however, having being a Bachelor of Art in English I have many accounts of women in literature that do have power but their power is portrayed in a less graceful, more forceful or “dark” fashion. I’ve never read this book, but I think it would be a good one to read somewhere along the line! Thanks for liking my post “Failing to Plan is Self-Destructive.” If it was truly helpful for you, please stop back on in, and click a few share buttons. Let’s also exchange follows and stay current. I would like to learn more about your motive and see how I can help in anyway. πŸ™‚

    Have you ever been to The Neighborhood? I think you would fit right in: http://thepublicblogger.com/ [I intern here and have been mentoring under the author for a couple of months now.]

    Best,
    Dominic Jones

Leave a Reply

