October 18b- Love bitter and sweet

Dear October,

You make me face dilemmas and contradictions. I went for a drink with a guy I was in love with two years ago. He started giving me advice on my love life. Did I appreciate it? Yes and No.

Yes, a little bit, because I tried to check my reactions as if I were an observer. As if I were in your place, October, a month, passing by. And no, because the advice was presented in a bitter envelope. He told me that I don’t fight for what I want, and if I want someone, I don’t go all the way through.

Now, you might object, wait a second, why did you start talking about your love-life with him? Is he a close friend? Not exactly.

Even if we didn’t get along, I still like him for a number of reasons. For example, he has had experiences through which I can learn. But he is very judgemental of my ideas, projects and personality.

Today we run into each other, so, it seemed natural to have a drink and catch up.

He told me how well he is doing and about his summer holidays with his girlfriend. Maybe I got a bit jealous, or I needed to get even.

I told him I felt in love this summer.

He put himself in the place of a mentor and started giving me advice. I had it all wrong, according to him. Should I have run after my summer love to the end of the world? Am I too constrained by invisible bounds? That is, myself?

Maybe he’s wrong and right at the same time.

3 thoughts on “October 18b- Love bitter and sweet

  1. he was certainly wrong 😉
    and you should have told him that your lover has a jet!
    you are in love (with yourself).
    and in my opinion, it takes two, both meeting in the middle,
    i doubt that he knows anything about that!
    Nx

Leave a Reply

