October 7- My business meetings at the Platform

Dear October,

I have spent the day in quasi-friendly professional meetings; the objective was to find allies (and get the wannabe boss off my back). Did it work? I don’t know, but I spent a lot of energy on that…

At this Platform, or network of artistic event organizers I belong to, I have a small budget to spent. The wannabee boss who is no 2 or this structure wants to push me out. He gave me some objectives he thought I couldn’t fulfill. I succeeded but he has been looking for excuses not to give me the budget that was allocated to me. During the summer months I have organized artistic events and promised some funds that haven’t come yet. And I am not eager of meeting with the wannabe boss and his nasty assistant. They are insulting and try to put me down.

Then why do I stay? The Platform could be an interesting place, in Paris, a city I love. If I am a star, part of a galaxy, the Platform is a network of galaxies, that is called an AMA in astronomy. My objective is  to attach myself to another galaxy with another boss.

Going back to my day: my first meeting involved a group of people, I presented my projects and that I am out of blue as to the means to accomplish them. This took me a while, and then I needed to be at the Platform, for lunch with another group. I arrived late, and they were already at the desert phase. But I was excused and joined them for coffee.

Then a third meeting followed, with a colleague who is also a friend, for a debriefing of the situation on my side and hers. She also needed my advice on her projects. We ended the discussion late, and when I got back home, all I could do was to buy myself a chocolate cake.

I would have finished it by myself as a form of consolation, but fortunately I run into another friend and suggested to share it. Probably the best thing to do …

 

http://www.taher.com/services/business-dining/businesslunch3#.VDUmPhYYv7w

Taher Inc. Business Lunch

3 thoughts on “October 7- My business meetings at the Platform

  1. Always believe in yourself. I was fortunate that when I had a few bosses that I didn’t like I had the flexibility to leave them. That is not always the case.

    I hope you find another ‘network’ that appreciates your stellar energy!

    Thanks for your visits – I’m a tad behind again, my grandchildren take up a good portion of my week days. But I still find time to write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

