October 8- Focusing on our goal

Dear October,

after an extremely busy day yesterday, I fell asleep with my contact lenses and clothes on; so I thought this is a sign to take it easy today, and enjoy my home and neighborhood.

Energy cannot be lost, so if we feel without it at some point, there must be a way to get it back. There are different ways to achieve it, varying from rest, being with loved ones, singing, praying, …

How about spending less energy in social interactions? Contact with other people should be a source of energy. Actually we depend on others for practically everything nowadays: our food (supermarket), affection, health, … and we contribute in this or the other way in other people’s existence. As parents, friends, children, …

Then how come we also allow others to drain our energy? It is one thing to give, because a good rest will restore it. But energy is drained when you overspent it in a stressful situation.

How do we get into positive and nourishing situations and avoid the rest?

One solution that comes to my mind is not to mind loosing face or not. This can save a lot of energy.

Another could be to work on our self-confidence as a form of shield, that doesn’t allow anything negative in. But we need to be careful not to exclude other people and their perspectives.

Another is to have in mind what is our objective. For example, today I want to write two pages on this or that.

I will simply not listen to the neighbor complaining about X or my boss about Y. I will create my music for those who want to listen.

If  I use others for self-assurance, there will always something to destabilize me.

Someone among the people I interact with who is not satisfied with my looks, clothes, accent, behavior, etc.

After all, it just doesn’t matter how good I am.

I need to focus on my story.

This is my contribution.

(picture from http://www.margieulbrickcounselling.com/services/focusing/)

Melbourne Counsellor for Focusing

 

 

October 7- My business meetings at the Platform

Dear October,

I have spent the day in quasi-friendly professional meetings; the objective was to find allies (and get the wannabe boss off my back). Did it work? I don’t know, but I spent a lot of energy on that…

At this Platform, or network of artistic event organizers I belong to, I have a small budget to spent. The wannabee boss who is no 2 or this structure wants to push me out. He gave me some objectives he thought I couldn’t fulfill. I succeeded but he has been looking for excuses not to give me the budget that was allocated to me. During the summer months I have organized artistic events and promised some funds that haven’t come yet. And I am not eager of meeting with the wannabe boss and his nasty assistant. They are insulting and try to put me down.

Then why do I stay? The Platform could be an interesting place, in Paris, a city I love. If I am a star, part of a galaxy, the Platform is a network of galaxies, that is called an AMA in astronomy. My objective is  to attach myself to another galaxy with another boss.

Going back to my day: my first meeting involved a group of people, I presented my projects and that I am out of blue as to the means to accomplish them. This took me a while, and then I needed to be at the Platform, for lunch with another group. I arrived late, and they were already at the desert phase. But I was excused and joined them for coffee.

Then a third meeting followed, with a colleague who is also a friend, for a debriefing of the situation on my side and hers. She also needed my advice on her projects. We ended the discussion late, and when I got back home, all I could do was to buy myself a chocolate cake.

I would have finished it by myself as a form of consolation, but fortunately I run into another friend and suggested to share it. Probably the best thing to do …

 

http://www.taher.com/services/business-dining/businesslunch3#.VDUmPhYYv7w

Taher Inc. Business Lunch