September 26- Career: how to face a provocative person?

Hello September,

I went to a cocktail at an art gallery, and I saw a woman who, I was told, could help me professionally because she works for a museum of contemporary art. In what way? To find a regular job!

I approached with my glass of wine, and introduced myself. We had a common friend who suggested I should get in touch with her for advice. Actually we had met in several occasions, but never talked before.

And there, bang! I was surprised to be attacked out of the blue: she told me she knew who I was. How  impertinent of me to dare address her in this informal style. I should sent her an email and then she might decide to answer or not.

I was surprised, so I muttered something like, eh, we don’t need to meet actually… and thought to myself, forget about getting help, it seems you’d better avoid this lady, April.

The thing is we are related to the Platform, my institution, so we will meet from time to time. She must be about three years older than me, but has a position that is stable and well paid in the art business. Why does she need to be nasty?

But I realize I can be a “menace” for her kind: I seem care-free from hierarchical struggle, and have a relative independence. I have the possibility to make choices, even if not always the budget that goes with them. Actually we do the same job, but I do it as a stressed free-lance, who doesn’t know what comes next, shes does it as a functionary.

Do I need her?

What I need is to get close to people who want to co-create, and forget false stability. I didn’t like to be part of an obedient hierarchy, I want to be free and creative. And respectful of others, of course. But respectful doesn’t imply being servile to those with more institutional power.

I need to focus on my project. This is an experience to help me realize: what do I really want from life? Recognition from this type of individual? Or some stupid revenge?

Well, pit bulls are not to be ignored or underestimated for their possibility to be troublesome.

But we can slalom around them 😉

P.S. I am apologize to pit bulls for using them as a metaphor for aggressive behavior …

 

Mikaela Shiffrin

http://olympictalk.nbcsports.com/2013/07/26/mikaela-shiffrin-alpine-skiing-giant-slalom/

 

 

4 thoughts on “September 26- Career: how to face a provocative person?

    • It is, isn’t it? But I am not that surprised, it is part of our artistic world’s culture… I guess sometimes creative people have to face themselves and their insecurities and become crazy and aggressive… And I don’t take myself out… we need to beware…

  1. Yeah, People like that are deeply damaged, in the art world, or any other, it is not in your best interest to carry the weight of their problems by taking this as a personal affront.

    When you limit your relationships to those you consider better than you (she obviously does) then you are forever on the bottom of the totem pole. She has pledged herself to a lifetime of groveling.

Leave a Reply

