September 24 – How to be a Tiger

Dear September,

I have committed in writing every day, so we will keep each other company for the next few days.

By the way, I sent my manuscript to a new publishing house and have a good feeling about it;

In this way I am moving in the direction of my heart’s desire. This action has fuelled up my motivation and chased the feeling of helplessness that was dwelling around.

I was picturing myself alone, misunderstood, with a mountain of challenges to face. Like a damsel in despair at the approach of a dreadful dragon.

The film “the Life of Pi”, released in 2012, that I watched recently, somehow inspired me: Pi, a shipwreck victim, is an Indian adolescent. He is stranded on a life boat with a tiger that was transferred on the ship, and he finds a way to survive in its  company. The film is extremely rich in meanings, but I will just choose a point of view relevant to my experience:

I dreamt of myself as a Tiger. There was another animal attacking me, and I was hopelessly trying to defend myself or make it go. Then, I had to come to a realization: I  can’t escape or win, as I am right now. I need to transform into something else, something more powerful. And there it was, I became a huge Tiger, roaring. That settled everything.

As a tiger, I need to change my eating habits. I think we eat on average six kilos of meet a day. Also sleeping hours;  and I need a territory to chase. But I will figure out everything.

The most important is that no Platform animal should come bother me if it is the moment for starters 😉

https://i0.wp.com/www.hdwallpapers.in/walls/sumatran_dangerous_tiger-wide.jpg

P.S. An interesting analysis of the film: http://screenrant.com/life-of-pi-movie-ending-spoilers/

 

4 thoughts on “September 24 – How to be a Tiger

  1. Great metaphor! I also loved Life of Pi, watched in the theatre when it was released. And I love tigers!!! The picture you posted is awesome. Tigers are such elegant, powerful, beautiful and strong creatures. A look into the eyes of a tiger is like connecting to a battery of self-esteem!

Leave a Reply

