August 3- Travelers

Dear August,

people come and go, we are travelling space, time, dimensions… for the time being the last two artists left my hometown for their respective countries; they had come to a tiny village at the South of France, close to my hometown, just to participate at the artistic event I was co-organizing.That happens to be close to my hometown.

Just? Or was it that the South of France is a wonderful place to be in the summer? Can I take credit for Cannes or Antibes? Barely so.

Anyway, they were happy to be here, although they found the organization a bit “amateur”, which is right. Nether I nor my hometown partner are professional organizers in a way. We are also artists, doing our best.

amateurs or not, our main objective was accomplished: create a good “ambiance” for people to feel at home and exchange. Also for me, despite the feeling of responsibility, it was great having them around. Learning more about their work, exploring future collaborations. But it has also generated some extra work, not to mention some communication problems 🙂

It was only 2.00 when I went to bed. My last visitor arrived at about 10.00 from her tour at some of the most beautiful spots and she would take the first train in the morning to the closest airport. I had promised to host her at my parent’s house; they were very kind to allow their place to become an airport: with people landing and taking off at different times of the day.

How do we relate to travelers in our lives? It is exciting to have them near by, because they open a window to far away places and experiences. After all, we are all travelers.

But there are some, we would like to travel with 🙂

http://search.tb.ask.com/search/AJimage.jhtml?searchfor=south+of+france&p2=UXxdm063S10476gr&n=780c6d96&ss=sub&st=sb&ptb=63664A51-33FB

coastline south west france image

2 thoughts on “August 3- Travelers

  1. When my children were younger we allowed them sleep overs.
    We also had family come and stay. But I have gotten to the point where if family comes I would rather them stay at a hotel.
    My home is not large and I am used to my quiet space – all of it.

    I think sometimes those who travel quite a bit would like some time in one place and those homebodies would like at times to travel.
    There always is a balance – I hope you find yours.

    It is nice to travel.. but I moves around quite a bit growing up and I like being in one place now. Though vacations can be nice 🙂

    The new Sonja series is up:
    https://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2014/08/03/multi-prompt-sonja-series-26/

  2. Dear Jules thank you for bringing your experience and news on your writing! I am checking out the Sonja series. Writing and reading is a different way to travel, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

