July 19- A reason to get married?

Dear July,

was it serious of me to propose to someone because he is cooking well? I don’t know. I went to a dinner party where a friend of a friend cooked some delicious dishes, everybody loved. Good cooking is not something you find easily these days. I told him, and he seemed to reflect on the idea quiet seriously. He asked what are my talents. What could I bring to this marriage? He is looking for someone to iron his shirts. (He is Italian by the way). I told him I don’t iron well. I am also not a very good housekeeper. But I tell stories.

He also wants to watch “Game of Thrones” without being interrupted. Fair enough. I don’t watch tv myself, but if we manage to get two rooms, that would do. He doesn’t like women who talk a lot. I don’t think I am one of them, I’d rather blog.

Now for the rest, such as attraction, we didn’t bother much. It wasn’t the case for many generations before us. Would he get something in this kind of bargain? I don’t know. It’s up to him to find out.

I need to try more recipes to make sure before I commit myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

Should we be down to earth when it is a question of marriage or expect a romantic feeling that sweeps us off our feet? Is falling in love unrealistic?

http://www.weddingsofjoy.com/awesome-wedding-cakes-image-picture/

Awesome Wedding Cakes Image Picture

 

19 thoughts on “July 19- A reason to get married?

  1. I am terribly old and not too wise but in my opinion the major reason to marry is desire to build a happy family (to make babies and to make them good, loving people).,

    • Oh, lร  lร , as we say in France, JF this is a topic that deserves a blog in itself! Why marry nowadays? I think you are right about making babies and bringing them up as good and loving people. But how do we decide who to marry to? What advice would you give to a woman? As a man with experience in marriage?

      • First of all, ask him if he wants to have babies.
        Then ask him to introduce you to his family and friends.
        Ask him if he wants to marry someone and why. What does he expect from a soulmate and partner.
        Then it will be clear to you if you want this man in your kingdom.

  2. What is marriage even? History shows it was a transaction. This could be something like that. Because marriage for love is such a recent idea! I guess it is what you make it to be. Also, maybe you should consider if you would even need to be “married” to do this thing ๐Ÿ™‚
    Either way someone who can cook well is a great reason! However it seems better suited to be one of the reasons rather than the one and only!

    • Thank you for bringing up this point! I agree marriage has a history, and is a form of social contract. In many societies, we, as women have a choice to get involved with it or not. And if we do: marriage for babies, for love, for having a companion, for pleasure, for well-cooked dishes? Good cooking skills definitely shouldn’t be the one and only reason! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

