July 17 – my night with the San Francisco ballet

July dear,

did you see me running on the streets of Paris towards the Châtelet theater? I was late, the bus didn’t follow its usual trajectory, the metro took long, and it was hot, hot, hot.

I got in with the “retardataires” the latecomers, until the entr’acte.We could watch and listen to the music, but we were behind a sort of glass. The artists couldn’t listen our applause.

It was wonderful, short scenes that stimulated the imagination … I didn’t read the program, so I made the craziest associations: a scene on the metro, musicals of the 50s, african and brazilian dances, couples in love, nature…

During the entr’acte I got my seat and chatted with some friends who were present, on their future holiday plans. J, a Turkish friend living in Paris, wanted to buy a ticket for Barcelona, on a weekend of March 2015. He incited us to do the same because the price was low. The Italian present, told him he doesn’t even know if he is going to be alive on that date. So what is the rush to book a weekend in almost a whole year? I objected that things might change in their personal lives and that we might need to count with other people too.

I told him that I plan other type of events -artistic projects- but I want to be more flexible on holidays.

As for our Italian friend, I don’t know if he is a pessimist.

Maybe he wants to invite serendipity.

J considered our reaction strange, a sign that we don’t want to project ourselves into a long-term future.

For me, it is a question of time perception, related to culture but also relationships and life. This perception can form a filter in everyday communication.

It is as if we communicated trough the glass , in the way the latecomers were separated from the main theater hall. In order to meet, we need to get to the other side.

And change our perspective.

2 thoughts on “July 17 – my night with the San Francisco ballet

  1. That was fun! I saw the plays, ‘Oklahoma’, ‘West Side Story,’ ‘A Midsummers’ Night’s Dream’ and maybe even bits of ‘The Nutcracker’ – Imagination is much better than programs. 🙂

  2. 🙂 yes in a way I have enjoyed more the artistic experiences I had in curious circumstances: a London museum I had to see in 15 minutes because it was closing, an exhibition in Paris after having waited for a ticket three hours in the sun… it was the last day… a ballet after running in a hot summer day… it is more intense somehow

Leave a Reply

