July 13- Last day at the Art Exhibition: to experience and to win

Dear July,

today has been a day full of all sorts of experiences at the art exhibition: should I talk about my feet that hurt again, -and it’s partly my fault: high heels :-)- or the human contact with all these artists?

I was running around all day, in meetings, photo-shootings, cocktail parties, it was great! I even got a present from a Japanese artist who was exposing her work. Something for the house she told me, it is so beautiful wrapt I don’t want to open up and see what it is… maybe some type of scent… Isn’t it great to get to a meaningful discussion with someone from a different culture in a lapse of time? And isn’t it funny to have communication difficulties with people who share the same background…

Anyway, these contacts are part of the wonderful side of the art world. I felt happy for having participated in the organization,  made new friends, and maybe this will help me in terms of career: when there is a good dynamic something should come out of it!

After the last cocktail of the day, I knew I wouldn’t be needed any more at the exhibition, so I said goodby and instead of going to rest, I decided to watch the end of the World Cup. The ambiance of the little café-bar next to my place was quiet a difference from the “ambiance” of the art exhibition.

People were cheering both sides, it was not clear if the majority was for Germany or Argentina. Personally, I was more sympathetic to Argentina, but I guess the German team played well.

In this type of games, there is a winner and a looser, nothing in between, even if the second team gets a silver medal. We get the impression that a moment could have a huge influence in people’s position. This is thrilling, and probably what makes people watch.

Is it like this in everyday life?

Are there different ways to experience and to win?

http://mindofmyown.org.uk/momo-champions/#

 

 

Champions Celebrating

 

 

6 thoughts on “July 13- Last day at the Art Exhibition: to experience and to win

  1. In some things, like sports other competitions there seems to be the need to win or loose. A good life lesson I suppose. We can’t all be winners. But why not? Well someone worked hard to come in first and they get a reward.

    I think we can win in life without competing. I guess that could be easy for me to say. I’ve done my due diligence – worked hard. So my reward is I get to play, at least occasionally.

    In art and other creative venues I think there can be multiple winners. Continued success with all your ‘contacts’ – may the positive energy keep flowing.

    • Thank you for really reading and reflecting on my posts! Maybe even in sports it takes time, effort and several failures to arrive at the moment of a medal… though it is not my field so I wouldn’t know from experience… I like your idea of a “multiple winner”, and thank you for your advice 🙂

  2. I think that people with talent that are using that talent have already won. In art it’s wrong to speak of “better,” or “best,” but only “different.” A winner in a race is clearly the winner, but who can say if Faulkner is “better” than Hemingway, or that Mozart is the “best” composer? Stimulating article and comments.

  3. Thank you for bringing your perspective, I agree! The example you use is very eloquent! The feeling of “winning” is exhilarating, and is put forward in the media for example, but art is quite a different world. And I am so happy for this!

Leave a Reply

