July 1- Time Loop and Change: “Groundhog day”

Dear July, welcome!

I would like to make a deal with you: there are some important things I need to finish while you are here. Would you mind giving me a hand?

How? The weather for example. Not too hot to make us sleepy but agreeable enough to keep us in a good mood. And to stay outside, by the river bars.

Now, I have been wondering, after three months of blogging, if there is a change in my attitude, in the way I see the world.

There was a film, “Groundhog day”, released in 1993, with Bill Murray and Andy MacDowell. Murray incarnates Phil Connors, an arrogant TV weatherman who is sent by his channel to cover the annual Groundhog Day event in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania. He considers the event beneath him and is odious with everybody. Bad weather obliges his team to spent the night there. When he wakes up the next morning, he finds himself in a time loop, and he keeps repeating the same day again and again. After some time, he knows exactly what is going to happen in every moment of the day, who he will meet and what they will say to him. He indulges in hedonism and then makes numerous suicide attempts but it is useless, he is still alive in this same day. He finally begins to re-examine his life and priorities. And this is the moment when he becomes “liberated” from this “spell”.

Now, the first time I watched this film, I was quiet young, and thought it was a nice comedy. The second time, I was older, and was going through some challenging times. I thought it was a psychological drama and found it disturbing. It was as if I were stuck in a time loop myself. Now I think of it as a philosophical tale.

My question is, have I changed my attitude, my world view and priorities during this period? My feelings about myself and others?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groundhog_Day_%28film%29

Groundhog Day (movie poster).jpg

One thought on “July 1- Time Loop and Change: “Groundhog day”

  1. I love this movie and all of the different ways you can take the meanings of what is taking place in it. I use it in training a lot. Especially in the film where they show the alarm clock going off like 5 times in a row and he smashes it. I say are you like this when you wake up in the morning? If so, you should quit. Great post.

Leave a Reply

