June 26- On dentists, shopping and proximity

Dear June,

yes I know: this is not a serious title for a blog that is dedicated to personal development. There is something of a disorder about it. What is the dentist’s role for example? Well, the dentist is what pushed me to shopping.

Please, be understanding! One of the nicest months of the year in terms of temperature, you can only be good-humored. I had a dentist emergency and I went to his cabinet early in the morning. But he wasn’t there. And his assistant told me she would contact me for the afternoon. This dentist gives you an appointment for the next month, so if you have an emergency you’d better stay close and try your best to be taken seriously. She finally managed to find me a place in the afternoon.

But there was no time to go in the direction of the Platform. And I needed something to lift my spirits. I spent the next three hours looking for certain items that were absolutely necessary for my summer wardrobe. And not only. Like a pair of jeans for example. I am not shopping a lot, not because I don’t want to. A question of budget. But discipline is not easy, I love fashion and living in Paris is full of temptations.

The last part of the day involved a farewell meeting with my friend who is visiting and his group of colleagues. We met quiet late, and that meant that we stayed until the last bars were closing. At 2.30 they were considering another round. I felt at ease with everybody, although I met most of them for the first time.

I realize I have a lot of friends on transit, and although this is a way for me to travel without buying a ticket, it is also good to open up to those a little bit closer. With far away friends I feel more secure. Like the case of the passenger next to you on the plane, to whom you tell the story of your life. And then you go your separate ways. Without worrying if what you just said is going to be used against you.

But defending oneself against potential dangers also keeps away some great things.

In the film “Confessions of a shopaholic”, the heroine is creating an imaginary life to protect herself from hardships. But this finally gets in the way of intimacy and relationships. The solution is to find a creative way to accept reality: by transforming it!

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confessions_of_a_Shopaholic_%28film%29

Confessions of a Shopaholic.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

