June 6- a challenge for my artistic event in the South of France

Dear June,

I woke up late and decided to avoid the Platform for the day, after having faced again the no 2 of the hierarchy, also known as the wannabe boss. Yesterday I won a difficult fight, and I know that since I have provoked him in his own territory, this isn’t over. His territory is the meeting he organized and coordinated, where he had to invite me. His idea was to tolerate my presence, without giving me any possibility to speak.

My strategy? I used the element of surprise: I announced out of the blue a very promising artistic event in the South of France, with the participation of well-known artists. The other colleagues were enthusiastic about it. He just couldn’t show how much it got in his nerves.

The truth is, there are a lot of things I haven’t figured out.

Today, for example, as I was working from home, I read an urgent email from my event-partner, who is living in my hometown: there is a danger to be without any accommodation for the participants. Not only that, but the municipality of the little village we chose won’t finance us. Before the elections they seemed very positive, but now that they got elected, they changed their mind.

At least this is how he pictured it. We were supposed to have a local agent who was in touch with the village authorities, and she is going through a major existential crisis: she is ready to give up the whole thing.

Ok, I thought, another crisis to deal with, while the wannabe boss is waiting for me to make a mistake and counter attack.

I decided to calm down the local agent: everything is fine, we are on top of things. The summer event will take place no matter what. That is what I repeated to my hometown partner. There is no Plan B. Plan A is on, I have announced it and there is no going back. We still have time until the end of July and we are going to make things work.

After that, I felt better.

I went outside, strolled in the beautiful sunny, summer day, and watched the people enjoying life  at the café terraces: the temperature is higher.

Isn’t it time for love, flirting, dressing up, looking like the goddesses we are, charming Parisian mortals?

I decided to go back home and look up for my summer dresses.

Tomorrow I am going to see B, hopefully.

 

P.S. The photo of this beautiful village in the area of Provence is random and has nothing to do with the municipality of our summer event! It comes from this site http://www.cotedazur-tourisme.com/information/roquebrune-cap-martin-office-de-tourisme-roquebrune-cap-martin-N4fiche_OITPAC0060000042-rub_104.html

 

Leave a Reply

