May 23- On writing and getting published

Dear May,

today I talked to an editor, out of the record, about a manuscript I would like to submit, just to get his temperature. Should I submit it? He said, ok, but it is not something that is going to change the face of the earth.

Oh, and he just wants me to precise in my cover letter that it is not a novel, but a “nouvelle“, something shorter, but bigger than a short-story.

This is not exactly encouragement, but I will do it anyway.

Should the object be to change the face of the earth? Haven’t I done it already just by being here???  And the same goes of course for every human being in this planet. We are all important, we have our special talents, characteristics, attributes. If we take the population of the earth in 2014, there is a minority who has the possibility to write fiction. And among these people, not everyone will want to get published and not everyone will succeed.

What is my motivation? I want to create a platform for people to meet, a home where I could invite my known and unknown friends for a party. A place that feels like home, but is full of mysteries, action and romance.

How do we know if our future editor is going to like what we create? I mean, he or she is not the first person I am thinking about when I start working. Or should it be?

The truth is that this particular “nouvelle” has taken me much time because I had in mind other people’s opinion. I was afraid I was proposing things in a style that was not recognizable, so I tried to be pragmatic. Not that I don’t like it.

Maybe it is better to trust my wild side.

Which would be my favorite editor to begin with?

I might need to contact the friend I have run into during the OULIPO writer’s evening 🙂

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Writing

 

18 thoughts on “May 23- On writing and getting published

  1. There is a beautiful song in my mother tongue, Dutch, that goes like this: I have moved a stone in a river on earth, I proved my existence, because by moving that one stone, the river will never flow the same way as before.
    (OK, it sounds a lot better in Dutch) The point is: the question marks in your posts are so relevant and so spot on. I think you’ll figure it out, just by asking them.

    • Thank you! I feel very grateful for the thought-provoking reactions to my posts, like your comment! The Dutch song is indeed very beautiful and wise! Thank you for sharing it!

  2. Pingback: feat. fello blogger – On writing and getting published | صف تاني

  3. Pingback: صف تاني

  4. Hi April, when I started my blog/website, some people said that I have good thoughts and I’m a deep person then she shared that I check my grammar. I understood and appreciated but at the same time, I realized it’s not about the correctness of the grammar but the consistency of the writing that we are really are after. So, go and share your journey. I believe you will find some people who’ll want to publish your works. 🙂 Be blessed!

  5. This was an interesting read. You have a lot more experience in both writing and life than I do, but perhaps “changing the face of the earth” is something you want to consider? The minority that are successful fiction authors are writing fiction because they love to write fiction. To truly be successful you need to really love what you do!

    If you write the way you love to write you will put the effort in, and not if, but when you get published, would this not be changing the face of YOUR earth? The one you live in. The only one that matters really?

    Just a thought.

    I wish you the best of luck!

    • Thank you for your feedback! I like a lot your idea about “changing the face of MY earth”, by getting published. And I believe it is a question of time. I will definitely continue submiting my different manuscripts. All the best with your challenge with the Hungarian language and your other objectives in life!

  6. Your writing is transparent. You should only write what reflects you and your heart and not have an editor it mind, but speak to the audience you are thinking of. When I read your blog I am thinking “whimsical” but I also enjoy the in your head. One of my favourites books to read (about 100 times) is Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway. His character, The Old Man, is mostly alone, at sea and carries on conversations with a fish, himself and nature. It reflects the a stream of consciousness to the reader that makes one feel like he is sitting in the boat with him. Consider putting together your blog posts as a short story book….happy writing. You are on the right track.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me! I love a lot “The Old Man and the Sea”, but I have only read it when I was 17; I should get back to it, thank you for the suggestions and for taking the time to really read my posts! I wish you all the best!

  7. I think the question that bears asking is , “Where can I find the editor who wants to help me change the world?” Keep writing, dearest. You are changing MY world already.

    Love, Hayati

Leave a Reply

