May 21- the moment before the transformation: Lyndi Sales

Hello dear rainy May,

this was a challenging day because I went to an exhibition where my mentor-to-be was presenting some of his own work. It felt difficult to face him after he refused to participate to my first project, last week. At the same time, I run into people who are examining another of my proposals. People who decide if they like it or not. If they like me or not.

It is not easy to feel judged. For me. There is a part, that wants to blend in, be accepted and recognized by my reference group, peers, etc. There is another part that wants to follow my instincts. This could make me look different. But it is me.

Just after, I went to lunch with someone who is coming from my hometown, we had met when I was planing to move to Paris and was looking for advice. We had a lot to catch up. I am happy for the path I have taken. Still, talking about the challenges I faced in the past, made me feel uncomfortable. Because I have tried to affirm an independent stance, to defend the territory I was creating.

My label.

And it is still not solid enough. Or is it?

I realized I need to focus on connection. To go towards those with whom I have an understanding. To forget about those who don’t want to understand.

Easy to say, but we are all part of the Platform, I can’t ignore this reality.

Maybe Lyndi Sales, the South-African artist, is giving an answer. I run into an installation of her work by accident and looked for more information on-line.

Lyndi Sales  talks about “Real Imaginary” and works on the limits of our perception. With the object to grasp the moment that precedes a transformation. She evokes a multitude of parallel universes that reflect, influence and respond to each other.

Vesica Piscis – ontology
aquarelle sur papier Fabriano et découpage
102×156 cm – 2014

 

http://www.marialund.com/fr/artiste/lyndi-sales

 

Her work is presented in the art gallery of Maria Lund in Paris: 48, rue de Turenne 75003 Paris – T. +33 1 42 76 00 33 – galerie@marialund.com

Leave a Reply

