May 7 – The Power of Imagination

Dear flowery May,

I decided to challenge myself because I owe you better than this: I promise you a surprise, something that will astonish you in a nice way during your stay with us!

It is not possible to continue in the same April rhythm: something must be your unique mark.

What? We will see, but I feel inspired.

I worked better in the first part of the day, more concentrated. I have still avoided the Platform – a sort of collective where artists, producers, and event organizers meet- and went with my computer on the café just across the street from where I live. Not my usual café, but it has wi-fi. I haven’t met another important artist beside myself, as Fitzgerald did when he met Hemingway. But you never know 🙂

In the second part, I socialized. My mentor has organized an exhibition of a well-known artist, it was the inauguration. I could leave the poor guy alone for one day. I focused instead on the artist, a charming 40 something year-old. As a token of bravery I decided to engage a conversation with him. Another woman my age, was close and she seemed to know everything about his work. She was in admiration, and she asked intelligent questions as I overheard. I felt ashamed to only have googled him before going. When my turn came, I admitted it was the first exposition of his I went to, but had an inspiration. I said that his work reminded me of X, a Greek artist who happened to be one of his favorites. Did I know her? Vaguely, to be honest. But I accepted to organize something with both of them in the future. I dared invite him in my summer event. If I get the Greek also, my summer event will be a success!

And since I’de rather not reveal the exhibition I went to, I post information on this one I would like to attend: Gustave Doré and the Power of Imagination at the Musée d’Orsay!

 

 

Gustave Doré is without doubt one of the most prodigious artists of the 19th century. At barely fifteen years of age he began a career as a caricaturist and then professional illustrator – which brought him international fame – before embracing all areas of creativity: drawing, painting, watercolour, engraving and sculpture.
As an illustrator, Doré set himself the challenge of the greatest texts (the Bible, Dante, Rabelais, Perrault, Cervantes, Milton, Shakespeare, Hugo, Balzac, Poe), which turned him into a real purveyor of European culture. He thus occupies a special place in contemporary collective imagination, from van Gogh to Terry Gilliam, not to mention his undoubted influence on comic books.

http://www.musee-orsay.fr/en/events/exhibitions/in-the-musee-dorsay/exhibitions-in-the-musee-dorsay/article/gustave-dore-37172.html?S=&tx_ttnews%5BbackPid%5D=254&cHash=2a50ac0116&print=1&no_cach

Leave a Reply

