April 14- visiting my hometown

April, how is it going?

Blossoming?

I had a dream tonight, that I went to my hometown and met a former schoolmate who got married and had three children. We were discussing what happened in our lives -hers who never left home- and mine who went to the big city to fulfil my destiny. We realized with had more in common than I could have thought.

In reality, I did go to my hometown, to visit my parents. I arrived late at night, took a taxi that was waiting at the train station, and had a long discussion with the taxi driver, between 1.00 and 1.30 in the morning. A woman in her mid-forties; married at 18, three children. Her husband died when she was 27. He was the love of her life-up to now. She never had a serious relationship after. She dedicated herself to her three children who now study, or work independently. She has been working as a taxi driver the last 20 years, sometimes night shifts.

She was happy with her life, made choices and fought for them.

So am I, in my way. There are things to improve. I am still looking for an independent income and my true love. But I followed the direction that felt important. I made mistakes and sometimes it has been painful. Loved, separated.

Time has passed. Important things have been accomplished. Others are on the way.

So, to answer your question, April: how am I doing?

I am becoming me…

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “April 14- visiting my hometown

Leave a Reply

